Action Alert: Help Defeat Iowa's Anti-Public Lands Legislation

fc02a160-b438-446a-b083-f5fc2b7d54e0

PF/QF Members in Iowa: Help Defeat Anti-Public Lands Legislation Today!

On Monday morning, Pheasants Forever & Quail Forever volunteers, members, staff and dedicated partners flooded the Capitol to show support for conservation, private landowner rights and public land in Iowa. Thank you to those who were able to join us! 
 
THE FIGHT IS NOT OVER: We’re counting on you to email your legislators TODAY to oppose Senate Study Bill 1221 ahead of a Tuesday afternoon Senate Natural Resources and Environment Committee meeting at 3 p.m.
 
SSB1221 Information:
The bill eliminates the use of State Revolving Fund for public land acquisition for water quality purposes and eliminates the Charitable Contribution for Conservation Tax Credit.
 
SSB1221 Action Requested:
Contact members of the Senate Natural Resources and Environment committee (listed below) as soon as possible and let them know you oppose SSB1221. Senators have indicated that they are open to discussion and improvements on this bill, so they need to hear from you! Find your legislator telephone number or email here: https://www.legis.iowa.gov/legislators/find 
 
Ken Rozenboom (R, District 40), Chair - ken.rozenboom@legis.iowa.gov
Tom Shipley (R, District 11), Vice Chair - tom.shipley@legis.iowa.gov
Robert Hogg (D, District 33), Ranking Member - rob.hogg@legis.iowa.gov
Jerry Behn (R, District 24) - jerry.behn@legis.iowa.gov
Nate Boulton (D, District 16) - nate.boulton@legis.iowa.gov
Claire Celsi (D, District 21) - claire.celsi@legis.iowa.gov
Chris Cournoyer (R, District 49) - chris.cournoyer@legis.iowa.gov
Tim L. Kapucian (R, District 38) - tim.kapucian@legis.iowa.gov
Jim Lykam (D, District 45) - jim.lykam@legis.iowa.gov
Mark Segebart (R, District 6) - mark.segebart@legis.iowa.gov
Jackie Smith (D, District 7) - jackie.smith@legis.iowa.gov
Annette Sweeney (R, District 25) - annette.sweeney@legis.iowa.gov
Dan Zumbach (R, District 48) - dan.zumbach@legis.iowa.gov
 

PF/QF Member Collective Message:

Dear  Legislator,
 
Please oppose SSB1221 in its current form. The elimination of State Revolving Fund (SRF) for public water quality projects and the elimination of the Charitable Contribution for Conservation Tax Credit are a step in the wrong direction for conservation.
 
The use of SRF for public land projects has a history of successful water quality projects that offer multiple benefits. Not only are these lands helping improve water quality and flood retention, they are creating more areas to hunt, fish, hike and be in nature. 
 
This use of SRF should not be eliminated. Let's work together to improve it — not get rid of a successful program when the state is doing all it can to improve water quality.
 

Need Help or Have a Question?

For more information regarding Senate Study Bill 1221, please contact Matt O'Connor, Pheasants Forever & Quail Forever's Habitat Team Coordinator, at 319-240-4075 or MOconnor@pheasantsforever.org.